18 December 2023

2024 AAS Election: It's Time To Vote!

Diane Frendak

Diane Frendak American Astronomical Society (AAS)

The 2024 AAS election is now underway, and eligible members will be voting for one Vice President, two At-Large Trustees, one USNC/IAU Representative, and two Nominating Committee members.

Members eligible to vote in the election will receive an email with a set of login credentials specifically for the voting portal. Once logged in, you will have access to your ballot, which includes links to statements from all the candidates. Every vote is important, and those elected will be empowered to decide the direction and goals of our Society.

We are deeply grateful to the AAS members who have agreed to stand for election.

Candidates for the Nominating Committee were proposed as specified in the Bylaws Section 4.19.4.

Nominating Committee (term: 3 years; positions open: 2)

The Nominating Committee prepares slates of candidates for Officers and Trustees as specified in the Bylaws. Current Committee Members: Paula Szkody, Chair (June 2022-June 2024); Pamela L. Gay and Lisa J. Storrie-Lombardi (Feb 2022-Feb 2024); Lori Allen and Margaret Meixner (Feb 2023-Feb 2025).

Vice President (term: 3 years; positions open: 1)

The Vice Presidents, as representatives of the Board of Trustees, are responsible for the overall scientific content of the Society's major meetings. They select invited speakers, review proposals for special sessions, and support and advise the Executive Officer in maintaining the scientific quality of the program. Current Vice Presidents: Adam Burgasser (June 2021-June 2024); Grant Tremblay (June 2022-June 2025); Dawn Gelino (June 2023-June 2026).

At-Large Trustees (term: 3 years starting June 2024; positions open: 2)

As members of the governing board of the AAS, At-Large Trustees have the legal responsibility to manage, direct, and control the affairs and property of the Society. Within the limits of the Bylaws, the Board of Trustees determines the policies of the Society and changes to them, and it has discretion in the disbursement of the Society's funds. Current At-Large Trustees: Jane Rigby and Lou Strolger (June 2021-June 2024); B. Ashley Zauderer-VanderLey (June 2022-June 2025); Lisa Prato (June 2023-June 2026).

USNC/IAU Representative (term: 3 years starting September 2024; positions open: 1)

The US National Committee for the International Astronomical Union (IAU) represents the interests of the US astronomical community and safeguards the intellectual vigor of the IAU.

Please note: Members eligible to vote will be notified when the electronic ballot is available. Members for whom we do not have email addresses will receive a paper ballot by first-class mail. You may verify your email address on our members-only site and if necessary send corrections to membership@aas.org.